Is this a job scam? Found job on Craigslist.org?
I found a job on craigslist.org and sent in my resume. I got a reply back saying just this.... Wed, August 18, 2010 4:46:09 AM RE: Resume for Sonya Prado ... From: Michael Gates <lightningcarcom52@live.com> [Chat now] ... Add to Contacts To:motherofthe3rd@yahoo.com The Lightning Car Company Limited, registered in England & Wales No. 6057054. Registered office: Stephenson House, 15 Church Walk, Peterborough, PE1 2TP. United Kingdom www.lightningcarcompany.co.uk Job ID 21300706-2 Company Name:The Lightning Car Company Limited Job Category: Customer Service/Administrative Clerk Location:Online Office: Online. Position Type: Full-Time/ Part Time. Experience: 0-1 Years Experience salary:$20 per Hr. After Review of your Resume.You have been considered and selected for the above job position.An Interview has been scheduled for you,it would hold today WEDNESDAY AUGUST 18TH 2010 by 3pm Texas TIME.The Interview would be conducted online through YAHOO INSTANT MESSAGING.You are advised to download a yahoo messenger and add the Recruitment Team.This is his yahooid....... trecruitment@ymail.com Make sure you add him to your messenger and you are online for the Interview by 3pm Texas TIME . This is an online job so all your assignments would be forwarded to you and submitted back by either fax, regular mail, email, phone or IM (instant messaging). All activities and corresponding time are to be recorded in excel spreadsheet. Thats how we access your work and process your pay. There are many obvious reasons why I think this is a scam, I think I just need somebody to agree with me so I won't follow through with it. I really need a job so I'm trying not to be so stubborn. Ugh, just writing this out I feel stupid for even thinking this could be real. The spelling and punctuation is wrong, an interview through IM, really? And $20/hr is a lil ridiculous. I looked online for something telling me this could be a scam but couldn't find anything. I know the common sense rule "If it's too good to be true then it probably is.." Your thoughts please? By the way, I live in Houston, Texas and this isn't even an American company.
Public Comments
- AFAIK, legitimate email addresses for this company are of the form ...@lightningcarcompany.co.uk smells like a scam to me.
- I found the same job. I guess as long as you don't give them any of your information. Like bank accounts. I tried out for it too and did the yahoo messenger thing. After answering their questions in a time limit of 25 minutes, they offered me the job and want me to start training the next day. I am not disclosing my social or my account info. Did you have your interview with them?
- If it smells like fish .............its fish..............if it smells like a scam it's a scam..........Consider this.........I have hundreds of friends and associates. None of the guys/girls have ever made any money on these on line ventures. If they would have they would be talking about it and I would be in on it…..SCAM
- I got the exact same email, from the same guy. I did the interview thing like the other guy did that answered your question. It went the same way too, 25 minutes to answer some typical interview questions, then they offered me the job to start training tomorrow through yahoo IM again. I don't know if it is legit, but I know the company itself is legit because I read some articles about reviews of their cars and whatnot, that were not published by them. These things are typically a scam though so i am suspicious.......also, I haven't been able to find anyone in the US that have actually gone through with the job at all. Usually you can find someone that has taken the job and will report that it is a scam or not what they thought. So I have no idea. I will report again after the training tomorrow. Oh, and they said two representatives would come to my city in 2 weeks, after the training, to meet with me and fill out my tax forms and whatnot. Did anyone else who interviewed, interview with a guy named Bob.?
- It's 100% a scam, the real company does not ever use a free @live.com email or @mail.com The real company emails are only @lightningcarcompany.co.uk - these scammers are using a real company name but have nothing to do with the actual company Besides a UK company cannot employ US employees without having a legal US business registered. If they don't have a US business address then they cannot employ US workers even as home workers. They need a US tax ID number in order to pay US workers, and they cant get that without a registered US address and merchant banking account And that's not written by a British English speaker. This is a Nigerian or Ghanaian scam, you can tell by the grammar and the odd capitalisation of words in the middle of sentences Did you even try emailing the real company through their website http://www.lightningcarcompany.co.uk/contact.php or enquiries@lightningcarcompany.co.uk They will confirm they have nothing to do with this Do not do the interview or send any information, it's an identity theft scam that will then try to use you as a money mule. This same scam has been going around for years but they just change the company name every few weeks
Powered by Yahoo! Answers